The art of forgetting her isn’t hard to master,
When everything reminds me of her,
When I can see her everywhere,
Feel her near me,
Hear her breathing,
And feel her presence, always.

In the mornings, on my way to work
I still get an extra french Vanilla for you,
But then I realise you’re not here, anymore.

At night, I always drive by your old house,
Feeling the need to climb through the window like I used to
And hoping to find you in bed looking up at me
Through your sleepy eyes.

On Sundays, every time I walk into my kitchen
I can almost smell the food you might be cooking
If I just turned the corner.

Every time our song comes on the radio,
I can almost feel your fingertips tapping on my arm.

The art of forgetting you isn’t hard to master,
When I can’t even remember to forget you.

************************************************************************************
This piece was inspired from the poem “One Art” by Elizabeth Bishop. I started out my poem based on the same idea of; The art of (something) isn’t hard to master.