Sitting on a rooftop and overthinking after midnight has never been a great combination,

Yet here I am wrapped around
In his arms,
Trying to make sense of why getting drunk
over his smell of rum and honey is so easy.

But that is not why I am here,
Only to get lost again
When I have finally found myself.

Do you remember the first time we kissed- He laughs.

Why are you laughing?

Because of course I remember.

Yeah? What do you remember?

It’s a bit weird.

No, say it.

I was scared because I couldn’t tell if you felt the same way.

Since you were with my best friend?

Yes, so I was waiting for a sign, but it never came- Instead, it was me who kissed you first.

Yeah, I was so happy but what made you? kiss me I mean.

I couldn’t help myself, not because it seemed cool.

No?

No. And you accusing me of that, actually angered me a little.

Why?

It felt like I had to give up on everything to be with you.
I betrayed my only best friend,
So when you accused me of doing what others thought was cool and
That I didn’t have my own opinion,
It was very unfair.

Because It isn’t true.

Because I chose you despite all the odds.

And it was a very stupid decision.

A really stupid decison?

Yes. A really stupid one. Because it made me feel like shit.
Because it made me stop liking myself as a person.

But I can’t continue to have regrets for the rest of my life.

I’ve become paranoid because I keep thinking if you and I could do something that horrible to my own best friend,
You might do the same to me.
Do you understand?
Sometimes, I think I deserve it.

I became desperate.
Your opinion started meaning more than my own.
And that is not how is it should be.

No.

I have to find my opinion now.
I have to collect all the bits and pieces of myself that I abandoned along this journey to my paranoia.

And I have to do it alone.

Do we go separate ways now?

I think so.

Is that what you want?

It’s what I’m in need of.
It seems like the most important thing right now.
As if nothing else has meaning.

Then we’ll just lay here until the stars go away.

________________________________________________________________________________

This piece has transformed into something very abstract from what it initially started out as. So no, I have never betrayed a best friend like that nor have I ever made a guy cheat on his girl. This was supposed to be just a piece about a girl who has now made peace with herself and is willing to go on this journey to set things right, which reflects me in more than just one way.

I still have not decided on what structure this ended up as because it takes the shape of dialogues between two lovers in a poetic form.

Also, this one’s for you Hunnisett. Thanks for the pep talk the other day.