Mauerbauertraurigkeit
n. the inexplicable urge to push people away, even close friends who you really like.

Dear Best Friend,
This is a goodbye I never had the courage to tell you.

You know me well enough inside out
That I trust you to understand why this is
The fall-out I never had the will to fight
Because lately, our friendship has felt like
Walking on eggshells.

Once upon a time,
We were each others safe space,
Where nothing other than us mattered.
We were there for each other, supporting and respecting
Through every changing phase
From nails to hairdos
From dresses to sweats
And of course from school to boys.

And then it all stopped.
To be specific, I stopped.

Perhaps, I’m “paranoid” as you say
But as the text replies came less
And the seenzone-ing came more,
I grew insecure.

I feared that one Tuesday morning,
You’ll wake up before me
And instead of texting me good morning,
Your mind is going to start realizing all my flaws.
My crooked nose, chapped lips,
Stretch marks across my thighs and arms,
Just like the ugliness spread across my personality.

You’ll get tired of my jealous remarks,
The fact that I complain too much,
My judgmental comments, or
Just how selfish I can be at times.

You’ll walk into your kitchen,
Brew a cup of coffee,
Stare at the pale morning sun rays
And come to the conclusion
That for no particular reason at all,
You don’t love me anymore.

As my paranoid self kicked in,
I tried to act insensitive towards you.
I tried to not care,
When there seemed to be more
Genuine laughter tumbling out of you,
In the company of another.
As much as that stung,
My heart warmed at every sight of your smiling face.

I’m going to let you you go,
Because I love you.

I know I mean the world to you
And it won’t be easy.

It’ll be difficult,
But I need you to find yourself.

I need you to discover who you are,
Without me.

I need you to uncover
The power and magic that
Lives beneath your bones.

I need you to learn
How to walk away
From anything that
No longer deserves your presence.

Love,
Your forever grateful friend.

________________________________________________________________________________
I first started writing this poem in bits and pieces this past summer but never came around to finish it as I was having trouble getting my thoughts across in just the right words. In class, when we were asked to pick and work with one of the 23 emotions that we all feel but can’t describe, the feeling “mauerbauertraurigkeit” stood out the most to me and I decided to weave it in my poem that I had started but abandoned as a result of lacking ideas.